Do Angels Exist?

Let me start by saying that I am not a particularly religious person. I was brought up Presbyterian and my husband is Catholic…but I must admit the last time we were in church was the week before our outdoor wedding.

When I was told I needed to have the d&c, the surgery scheduler called my cell phone and said “is this Kathryn?” I said, “Yes, this is she.” The woman on the phone said “is this Katy??” I said yes, wondering how this person knew to call me Katy. Welp, then the woman says “Honey, it’s Linda, Megan’s mom…I am so sorry.” That’s right, out of the entire hospital, my close friend’s mother called me to schedule my procedure. At first I was taken aback…Megan knew what had happened, but she was one of the select few. Her mom asked me if I wanted to speak with someone else, but I immediately said no. I would rather have talked to someone who knows me and cares about me.

Fast forward to the day of the surgery, the day after my phone call with Linda. As I sat waiting to go into the operating room, Linda came by to see me. I had been doing such a great job of holding it together, but seeing a familiar, concerned face just made me start crying my eyes out. She is so motherly and comforting…and I really appreciated her staying with me. She held my hand as they gave me anesthesia, and stayed until I fell asleep.

When I woke up in recovery, Linda was there. She said to me “My mom had a miscarriage before she had me, and she was so sad. But she has an angel watching over her, and she finds great comfort in that.” I nodded, trying to keep my composure. She then said to me “When I was pregnant with my girls, I said a novena every morning for nine straight days, praying that everything would be ok.”

This weekend, I was out with Megan, Linda’s daughter, and she slipped me an envelope with my name on it. When I got home and opened it, I saw that it was the novena that Linda had told me about. So, I figured it was worth a try. This morning I said the novena out loud (I don’t really know the rules…) I am sure that a strong sense of faith helps people through difficult times like this. And I am not going to scoff at that. There must be something to believing that this was God’s will. It wouldn’t hurt to pray on this…and see where it takes me. It’s worth a shot. So here’s the novena, if nothing else, I think it’s beautifully written, and the thoughtfulness of the person who gave it to me will never be forgotten.

Oh St. Joseph whose protection is so great, strong and prompt before the throne of God I place before you all my desires and concerns (insert desires and concerns)

Please St. Joseph do assist me with your powerful intercession and obtain for me through your divine son all spiritual blessings through Jesus Christ our Lord.

Oh St. Joseph I never weary contemplating you and Jesus asleep in your arms. I dare not approach while he reposes near your heart.

Praise him in my name and kiss his fine head for me and ask him to return the kiss when I draw my dying breath. Pray for me.

2 responses to “Do Angels Exist?

  1. What a touching story. Sounds like Linda was your guardian angel.

  2. I think it’s lovely that Linda found a way to offer you the comfort that you needed it, when you needed it. What a gift. I’m here from the LFCA. Just wanted to welcome you to the blogosphere and let you know that there are lots of us out here to support you.

Leave a Reply

